Our History

The Pembina Valley Twisters first skated into existence in September 2001, founded by Glenn Cordy and Kerry Lines. Glenn and Kerry coached the Sanford Sabers High School Hockey Team during the 2000–01 season and after the conclusion of an emotional season. Aside from the Winkler Flyers, many graduating players from the Pembina Valley region did not have a place to continue their junior hockey careers”.  

       The first four years the Twisters were in the league were played in Oak Bluff with the team making the playoffs all four season.

After our fourth season, it was decided to move the franchise to Morris. The existing ownership group of Kerry, Don Boyd was joined by Glen Munford and Dale Rempel.

Since moving to Morris the Twisters have been perennial contenders in the MMJHL, reaching finals four times and winning the League Championship twice.

        In the summer of 2016 a new ownership group that included local residents and business owners Pat Schmitke and Corey Wall along the former resident Perry Mohr acquired the team.

      The Twisters remain committed to icing a competitive hockey team that will provide Junior age players (17-21) in the region with a place to play hockey while either starting their careers or pursuing a University education.


League championships


Jack Mackenzie Trophy (playoffs)

  • 2007-08, 2012-13, 2018-19

Art Moug Trophy (regular season)

  • 2009-10, 2018-19

Head Coaches

·      Danny McDonald (2001-03)

·      Rick Smith (2003-05)

·      Doug Ushakas (2005-07)

·      Troy Ehnes (2007- 20012

·      Garth Shindle (2009-12)

·      Derek Mohr (2012-16)

·      Ryan Dyck (2016 -

Contact Us

Ownership Group

Tyler Reiner

Pat Schmitke

Corey Wall

Angela Wal

Shawn Graydon

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

©2016 by Pembina Valley Twisters